The contenders
Side by side
Illustrative photoTrekking-pole: the budget pick
3F UL Gear Lanshan 2
7.0 / 10Needs two trekking poles, sold separately, but at this price it's hundreds of grams under any freestanding tent here.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to 3F UL Gear Lanshan 2
Illustrative photoTrekking-pole: the higher-spec pick
Durston X-Mid 2
6.7 / 10Also needs trekking poles. Wider floor, factory-sealed seams and a stated warranty, sold direct rather than on Amazon.
See it at Durston GearSold direct by the maker, not on Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn on it.
Illustrative photoFreestanding: the budget pick
Naturehike Cloud Up Pro 2
5.5 / 10Ships with its own pole and a footprint, no trekking poles required, at close to the Lanshan 2's price.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Naturehike Cloud Up Pro 2
Illustrative photoFreestanding: the mainstream baseline
Kelty Late Start 2P
3.2 / 10This site's own reference tent. Sturdy 68D fabric and its own poles, at almost the Lanshan 2's price, for the heaviest weight of the four.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Kelty Late Start 2P

“Trekking-pole tent vs freestanding tent” sounds like a shelter question. It's really a question about what's already in your pack. Below are two real picks of each type at roughly matched price tiers, plus the site-type and pole-ownership factors that decide it better than any spec table can. If you've already settled on trekking-pole and just want the field ranked, see our best trekking-pole tents ranking.
Four picks, side by side
| Published spec | Lanshan 2 (TP) | X-Mid 2 (TP) | Cloud Up Pro 2 (FS) | Kelty Late Start 2P (FS) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Design | Trekking-pole | Trekking-pole | Freestanding | Freestanding |
| Weight | 1,060 g (2 lb 5.4 oz) | 890 g (1 lb 15.4 oz) | 1,360 g (2 lb 16.0 oz) | 1,900 g (4 lb 3.0 oz) |
| List price | $150–$200 MSRP band | $300–$400 MSRP band | $150–$200 MSRP band | $150–$200 MSRP band |
| Poles | 2 trekking poles, sold separately | 2 trekking poles, sold separately | Own pole, included | 2 own poles, included |
| Doors / vestibules | 2 / 2 | 2 / 2 | 1 (count not published) | 1 / 1 |
| Minimum stakes to pitch | Not stated | 4 | Not stated | Not stated |
The same comparison with every figure linked to its source, plus our value figure and score:
| Published spec | 3F UL Gear Lanshan 2 | Durston X-Mid 2 | Naturehike Cloud Up Pro 2 | Kelty Late Start 2P |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Weight | 1,060 g (2 lb 5.4 oz) | 890 g (1 lb 15.4 oz) | 1,360 g (2 lb 16.0 oz) | 1,900 g (4 lb 3.0 oz) |
| List price | $150–$200 band | $300–$400 band | $150–$200 band | $150–$200 band |
| Value | Value 7.7/10 | Value 4.5/10 | Value 4.9/10 | No grams saved vs the reference |
| Doors / vestibules | 2 / 2 | 2 / 2, each vestibule 11.5 sq ft (1.1 m²) | Taller door design (Naturehike does not list a door or vestibule count) | 1 / 1; vestibule area 7.4 sq ft (0.69 m²) |
| Pitch | Two trekking poles (sold separately); 8 stakes included | Two trekking poles; pitches with 4 stakes, 8 DAC J stakes included | Freestanding; Yuksom lightweight aluminum alloy pole | 2 aluminum poles, pre-bent; Quick Corners setup |
| Score | 7.0 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 5.5 / 10 | 3.2 / 10 |
How each design actually works
A freestanding tent carries its own dedicated poles, which lock into sleeves or clips and hold the tent's shape on their own. The Naturehike Cloud Up Pro 2 uses a Yuksom aluminum pole built just for that tent; the Kelty Late Start 2P uses two pre-bent aluminum poles with a “Quick Corners” setup. Stakes still matter for the fly and for storm stability, but the basic structure stands without them.
A trekking-pole tent has no dedicated pole hardware at all. The Lanshan 2 and X-Mid 2 both pitch on two trekking poles you provide, and both are “fly-first” designs (Durston's term for the X-Mid 2) where the outer fabric goes up before the inner, so you can pitch in the rain without soaking the mesh inner. The shape depends on stake tension at the corners, not on the poles alone, which is why Durston is specific that the X-Mid 2 “pitches with just four stakes” for a basic setup.
Why trekking-pole tents usually weigh less
Among these four picks, the pattern is consistent: the Lanshan 2 weighs 1,060 g (2 lb 5.4 oz) and the X-Mid 2 890 g (1 lb 15.4 oz), both under the Cloud Up Pro 2's 1,360 g (2 lb 16.0 oz) and the Kelty's 1,900 g (4 lb 3.0 oz). The mechanism is simple: a freestanding tent's published weight includes a pole system built for exactly one job. A trekking-pole tent's published weight doesn't, because the pole isn't the tent's to carry — it's already in your hand for hiking, or it's a separate purchase either way.
The Cloud Up Pro 2 narrows that gap considerably: it weighs 300 g (10.6 oz) more than the Lanshan 2, a smaller difference than the Kelty's, because Naturehike's pole is itself built light. Freestanding doesn't have to mean heavy; it means the tent, not you, is carrying the frame.
Packed size follows the same pattern where it's published. Kelty lists the Late Start 2P's packaged size at 16 x 6.5 x 6.5 in, and Naturehike lists the Cloud Up Pro 2's at roughly 13 x 40 cm — both include a dedicated pole taking up sack space. Neither 3F nor Durston publishes a packaged size or stuff-sack dimensions for the Lanshan 2 or X-Mid 2, so we can't make that comparison for the trekking-pole side; their minimum weights are the only figures on record.
Site types and setup
This is the factor the spec sheet hides best. Freestanding tents can pitch on ground that won't hold a stake at all: slickrock, packed sand, gravel bars, wooden tent platforms. Big Agnes states its freestanding Copper Spur UL2 needs “no need to stake the corners” for a full pitch (Big Agnes), and the same basic principle applies to any true freestanding design, including the Cloud Up Pro 2 and the Kelty. You can set the poles, toss the tent down, and adjust position after you see how it sits.
A trekking-pole tent's shape depends on staked-out tension, so it wants ground that takes a stake: dirt, duff, packed soil. On rock or sand you need backup anchors (rocks, sandbags, tent-stake alternatives), which is extra gear and extra time. In exchange, trekking-pole tents are usually quicker to pitch once you've done it a few times, because there's no pole to assemble — you're staking and tensioning fabric, not threading a frame.
If you camp mostly on established dirt sites, this factor barely matters. If your trips regularly put you on rock ledges, beaches, or platforms, it can matter more than the weight difference.
There's a backup-plan question too. A freestanding tent's dedicated poles are matched to that tent and generally travel with a repair sleeve for a cracked section. A trekking-pole tent depends on whatever poles you brought to hike with — if one bends or snaps on the trail, you're improvising a shelter fix and losing a hiking aid at the same time. Neither maker in this comparison publishes a pole-failure rate, so this is a real-world trade to weigh, not a published spec.
Do you already carry trekking poles?
This is the question that should decide it for most budget buyers. If you already hike with trekking poles for knees, stability or stream crossings, a trekking-pole tent's weight is close to free: the poles are already in your pack doing a job, and the tent just borrows them at camp. If you don't use trekking poles and don't want to start, you're either buying a pair just for the tent or picking freestanding.
The comparison of one specific trekking-pole budget tent against one specific freestanding budget tent, with this exact question worked through in more detail, is in Naturehike Cloud Up 2 vs Lanshan 2.
Price and value across both types
On grams saved per dollar against the reference tent, the two trekking-pole picks lead: the Lanshan 2 posts Value 7.7/10 and the X-Mid 2 Value 4.5/10. The Cloud Up Pro 2 posts Value 4.9/10, and the Kelty, as the reference tent itself, posts no value figure at all by definition. That ranking counts only the tent's own weight and price — it doesn't credit a freestanding tent's included pole, or debit a trekking-pole tent for poles you might still need to buy. Treat it as one input, not the whole decision. Full scoring rules are on our methodology page, and every 2-person tent we rank, both types included, is in our best 2-person backpacking tents ranking. Solo hikers can start with our best 1-person backpacking tents ranking, which covers both designs too.
The decision, step by step
- Do you already hike with trekking poles? Yes → a trekking-pole tent's weight is close to free. No, and you don't want to start → lean freestanding, or price in a pole purchase first.
- Where do you actually camp? Mostly dirt and duff → either type pitches fine. Regularly on rock, sand or platforms → freestanding pitches without a fight.
- How much does the weight gap matter to you? If it's hundreds of grams you'll feel on the trail, and you have poles, a trekking-pole tent is the clear pick. If the gap shrinks once you add pole cost and weight, it's closer than the spec sheet suggests.
- Do you want fewer separate purchases? A freestanding tent is a complete kit on its own. A trekking-pole tent is one piece of a system you build.
If I were buying my first ultralight tent and already carried poles, I'd go trekking-pole without a second thought — the weight savings are real and the poles cost nothing extra. If I didn't carry poles and mostly camped on established sites, I'd still lean trekking-pole and buy a budget pair; the total weight usually still beats a comparable freestanding tent. Where I'd go freestanding is sandy or rocky terrain, full stop.
In detail
The contenders, in full
Illustrative photoTrekking-pole: the budget pick
3F UL Gear Lanshan 2
Needs two trekking poles, sold separately, but at this price it's hundreds of grams under any freestanding tent here.
Published specsFrom the maker · not tested by us
| Weight | 1,060 g (2 lb 5.4 oz) (shelter weight, fly + 3-season mesh inner, trekking poles not included. 3F prints 1,060 g ('ultralight weight') in the feature list and 1,023 g ('tent body weight', 3-season) in the spec table; the heavier figure is used) |
|---|---|
| List price | $150–$200 MSRP band (per 3fulgear.com, checked Sep 2026) |
| Value | Value 7.7/10vs the reference Kelty Late Start 2P at 1,900 g (4 lb 3.0 oz) |
| Inner dimensions | 220 x 110 x 125 cm (86.6 x 43 x 49 in), length x width x peak height |
| Fabric | Fly 15D silicone/PU nylon, 5,000 mm; floor 15D PU nylon, 6,000 mm; 11 cm (4.3 in) bathtub |
| Construction | Double wall, dual apex; 3-season inner in 15D mesh nylon (4-season solid nylon inner also sold) |
| Doors / vestibules | 2 / 2 |
| Pitch | Two trekking poles (sold separately); 8 stakes included |
| Seams | Factory taped with waterproof PU tape; no seam sealing needed |
| Weight figures printed by 3F | 1,060 g 'ultralight weight'; 1,023 g tent body (3-season); 1,152 g 'trail weight' (with stakes, sacks and guylines) |
How the 7.0 score breaks down
- Grams per dollar (35%, computed)
- 7.7
- Weight (20%, computed)
- 6.2
- Space & weather protection (25%)
- 7.5
- Materials & durability (10%)
- 6.0
- Ease & versatility (10%)
- 6.0
What the specs support
- A true double wall (separate fly and mesh inner) at the lowest list price of any two-person tent in this group
- Seams are factory taped, so there is no DIY sealing (unlike the Lanshan 2 Pro)
- Two doors and two vestibules: neither sleeper climbs over the other
Where it falls short
- At 1,060 g (37.4 oz) it is heavier than the Lanshan 2 Pro, X-Mid 2 and Duplex
- Inner is 110 cm (43 in) wide, 22 cm narrower than the X-Mid 2's floor
- Thin 15D fly: 3F lists 12-15 N tear resistance, against 40-45 N for the Pro's 20D silnylon
Skip it if…
Skip it if two of you both sleep on wide pads: the inner is only 110 cm (43 in) across, 22 cm narrower than the X-Mid 2's floor.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to 3F UL Gear Lanshan 2
Illustrative photoTrekking-pole: the higher-spec pick
Durston X-Mid 2
Also needs trekking poles. Wider floor, factory-sealed seams and a stated warranty, sold direct rather than on Amazon.
Published specsFrom the maker · not tested by us
| Weight | 890 g (1 lb 15.4 oz) (shelter weight ('Complete Tent': fly 535 g + inner 355 g), trekking poles not included. Durston prints 31.3 oz / 890 g; the gram figure is the heavier one) |
|---|---|
| List price | $300–$400 MSRP band (per durstongear.com, checked Sep 2026) |
| Value | Value 4.5/10vs the reference Kelty Late Start 2P at 1,900 g (4 lb 3.0 oz) |
| Floor | 92 x 52 in (2.34 m x 132 cm), 33.2 sq ft (3.1 m²) |
| Peak height | 48 in (122 cm) |
| Doors / vestibules | 2 / 2, each vestibule 11.5 sq ft (1.1 m²) |
| Fabric | Fly 15D Sil/PE polyester, 3,500 mm; floor 15D Sil/PE nylon, 3,500 mm |
| Construction | Double wall, fly-first pitch; factory waterproofed seams |
| Pitch | Two trekking poles; pitches with 4 stakes, 8 DAC J stakes included |
| Warranty | 2 years |
How the 6.7 score breaks down
- Grams per dollar (35%, computed)
- 4.5
- Weight (20%, computed)
- 7.5
- Space & weather protection (25%)
- 9.0
- Materials & durability (10%)
- 7.0
- Ease & versatility (10%)
- 7.0
What the specs support
- Widest double-wall floor among the two-person tents here: 132 cm (52 in)
- Pitches with just four stakes, and the seams are factory waterproofed
- Polyester fly, which Durston says doesn't sag and loosen like nylon
Where it falls short
- About twice the Lanshan 2's list price
- Sold direct by Durston Gear; its Amazon listing reads 'Currently unavailable'
Skip it if…
Skip it if the Lanshan 2's price is your ceiling: the X-Mid 2 lists at about twice as much to save 170 g and add 22 cm of floor width.
Sold direct by the maker, not on Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn on it.
Illustrative photoFreestanding: the budget pick
Naturehike Cloud Up Pro 2
Ships with its own pole and a footprint, no trekking poles required, at close to the Lanshan 2's price.
Published specsFrom the maker · not tested by us
| Weight | 1,360 g (2 lb 16.0 oz) (minimum weight (approx. 1.36 kg / 2.99 lbs as listed)) |
|---|---|
| List price | $150–$200 MSRP band (per naturehike.com, checked Sep 2026) |
| Value | Value 4.9/10vs the reference Kelty Late Start 2P at 1,900 g (4 lb 3.0 oz) |
| Inner size | 210 x 130 x 105 cm (82.7 x 51.2 x 41.3 in), length x width x peak height |
| Door | Taller door design (Naturehike does not list a door or vestibule count) |
| Fly | 20D nylon ripstop, silicone coated, PU 3000 mm+ |
| Floor | Ground sheet 20D silicone-coated nylon ripstop (PU 3000 mm+); 210T polyester ripstop floor layer (PU 5000 mm+) |
| Pitch | Freestanding; Yuksom lightweight aluminum alloy pole |
| Packed | Packed weight approx. 1.53 kg (3.37 lbs); 13 x 40 cm |
| Included | Footprint, 14 stakes, 5 guy lines; PFC-free DWR version also sold |
How the 5.5 score breaks down
- Grams per dollar (35%, computed)
- 4.9
- Weight (20%, computed)
- 4.0
- Space & weather protection (25%)
- 6.5
- Materials & durability (10%)
- 6.0
- Ease & versatility (10%)
- 8.0
What the specs support
- Packed weight of 1,530 g (3.37 lbs), versus 1,800 g for the Cloud Up 2 it replaces
- 130 cm wide inner, 5 cm wider than the Cloud Up 2
- Footprint included in the box
Where it falls short
- Naturehike publishes no door or vestibule count
- Ground sheet is listed at PU 3000 mm+, below the older Cloud Up 2's PU 4000 mm+
Skip it if…
Skip it if you need two doors and two vestibules: Naturehike describes one taller door, while the Hubba Hubba LT 2 and Copper Spur UL2 list two of each.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Naturehike Cloud Up Pro 2
Illustrative photoFreestanding: the mainstream baseline
Kelty Late Start 2P
This site's own reference tent. Sturdy 68D fabric and its own poles, at almost the Lanshan 2's price, for the heaviest weight of the four.
Published specsFrom the maker · not tested by us
| Weight | 1,900 g (4 lb 3.0 oz) (minimum weight (Kelty lists 4 lbs 5 oz / 1.9 kg; the 1.9 kg metric figure is used, same as the reference)) |
|---|---|
| List price | $150–$200 MSRP band (per kelty.com, checked Sep 2026) |
| Value | No grams saved vs the referencevs the reference Kelty Late Start 2P at 1,900 g (4 lb 3.0 oz) |
| Floor | 89 x 54 in (226 x 137 cm); 30.6 sq ft (2.8 m²) |
| Height | 42.5 in (108 cm), from Kelty's L x W x H dimensions |
| Doors / vestibules | 1 / 1; vestibule area 7.4 sq ft (0.69 m²) |
| Fabric | 68D polyester fly and floor, 1200 mm, PFAS-free DWR; no-see-um mesh walls |
| Poles | 2 aluminum poles, pre-bent; Quick Corners setup |
| Packed | Packaged weight 4 lbs 12 oz (2.1 kg); 16 x 6.5 x 6.5 in |
| Footprint | Sold separately (Late Start 2P Footprint) |
How the 3.2 score breaks down
- Grams per dollar (35%, computed)
- 0.0
- Weight (20%, computed)
- 0.0
- Space & weather protection (25%)
- 6.5
- Materials & durability (10%)
- 7.5
- Ease & versatility (10%)
- 8.0
What the specs support
- 68D polyester fly and floor, more than three times the denier of the 20D budget-UL fabrics
- Largest floor of the budget two-person tents here (30.6 sq ft)
- Quick Corners and pre-bent poles keep setup simple
Where it falls short
- At 1,900 g it is the heaviest two-person tent in this group
- One door and one vestibule
- Fly and floor listed at 1200 mm
Skip it if…
Skip it if you carry the tent solo on long trips: its 1,900 g minimum weight is 520 g or more above every Naturehike Cloud Up 2-person model.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Kelty Late Start 2P
How we scored this
Units we claim to have tested: 0
Most gear sites say they tested everything. We didn't, and we say so. What we did instead: took every weight and list price from the maker's own page, measured each product against a named mainstream reference, and computed grams saved per dollar. Every number links to where it came from.
The score is spec-derived: value and weight are computed from those numbers, and the rest are judgments from published specs, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The formula, weights and references are published.
What changed
- Published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Is freestanding or trekking-pole better for a first tent?
What happens if I break a trekking pole on a trekking-pole tent trip?
Is a trekking-pole tent lighter than a freestanding tent?
Can you use trekking poles for a tent?
What are the pros and cons of a trekking-pole tent?
Do freestanding tents need stakes?
Which is better for beginners, a trekking-pole tent or a freestanding tent?
Receipts
Sources
- 3F UL Gear: Lanshan 2 product page (checked 2026-09-22)
- Durston Gear: X-Mid 2 product page (checked 2026-09-22)
- Naturehike: Cloud Up Pro 2-Person Ultralight Backpacking Tent product page (checked 2026-09-22)
- Kelty: Late Start 2P Tent product page (checked 2026-09-22)
- Big Agnes: Copper Spur UL2 product page and spec table (checked 2026-09-22)
- Cascade Mountain Tech: Aluminum Quick Lock Trekking Poles (Cork Grip) product page (checked 2026-09-22)
We haven't tested the gear on this page and we don't pretend to. Weights, list prices and specs come from each maker's own pages (linked on every product), and performance figures such as boil times or flow rates are the maker's claims, labeled that way. Amazon sets its own prices and changes them often, so buy buttons link to the live listing. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.



