Quick picks
The picks at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() 3F UL Gear QiDian 40+16 The most grams shed per dollar of any pack we track, and the lowest list price. Frameless, with the lowest load rating here and no torso sizing at all: a pack for a kit that's already light. | Best Budget UL Pack850 g (1 lb 14.0 oz)$50–$100 band | 7.0 / 10Value 10.0/10 | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 2 | ![]() 3F UL Gear QiDian Pro A little heavier than the plain QiDian, but a tougher UHMWPE-blend fabric, two more pockets and a higher rated max load. Still frameless: your folding foam pad does the structural work. | Best value with a higher load rating880 g (1 lb 15.0 oz)$50–$100 band | 7.0 / 10Value 8.7/10 | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 3 | ![]() Granite Gear Virga3 55 The lightest pack on this page, and the first one with an adjustable torso and a hipbelt sized separately from the bag. Frameless, so match the load rating to your kit before you buy. | Lightest pack with real torso sizing762 g (1 lb 10.9 oz)$150–$200 band | 6.2 / 10Value 4.6/10 | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 4 | ![]() Durston Kakwa 55 A real removable aluminum frame keeps this one composed under a heavier load than anything else here, sub-kilogram fabric aside. Sold direct by Durston Gear, not on Amazon. | Highest load rating under a kilogram895 g (1 lb 15.6 oz)$200–$300 band | 6.0 / 10Value 2.8/10 | See at maker |
| 5 | ![]() Gossamer Gear Mariposa 60 Seven outside pockets and a removable aluminum frame for a pack you can organize without opening the main compartment. The highest list price of the ultralight group, and sold direct, not on Amazon. | Most exterior pocket storage968 g (2 lb 2.1 oz)$300–$400 band | 5.5 / 10Value 2.3/10 | See at maker |
| 6 | ![]() Granite Gear Crown3 60 A removable frame sheet and an optional stay let one pack scale from a light carry to a genuinely heavy one. The torso length is fixed per size, so measure before you order. | Most configurable load rating1,080 g (2 lb 6.1 oz)$200–$300 band | 5.2 / 10Value 2.3/10 | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
| 7 | ![]() Osprey Exos 58 A suspended mesh back on a real LightWire frame, and Osprey's guarantee against damage for any reason. The heaviest and highest-listing pack in this group, which is exactly what the brand costs here. | The name brand you already trust1,320 g (2 lb 14.6 oz)$200–$300 band | 4.6 / 10Value 1.3/10 | Check price · Amazon #ad · Disclosure |
#ad · Amazon sets its own prices and changes them often, so buttons link to the live listing. Weights and list prices are the maker's own figures; scores are spec-derived, not hands-on tests. Photos are illustrative. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Most backpack rankings start with the lightest pack and work backward from there. This one starts with the math. We took every ultralight and lightweight-framed pack in our catalog, weighed each one against a mainstream framed pack a first-time buyer already owns, and ranked the field by how many grams each pack saves for every dollar of its list price. A sub-kilogram frameless roll-top from a Chinese cottage brand came out on top, for about a fifth of the list price of the priciest pack here.
That's not a gimmick. It's what happens when you measure value instead of just weight. If you want 90% of ultralight for 40% of the price, a backpack is one of the easiest places to get it, because the frame, suspension and load rating that drive a pack's price barely move the number on the scale. What they move is how much weight you can carry comfortably, and that's the trade every pick on this page makes differently. If you already know you want a conventional framed pack instead, see our budget framed pack rankings.
How we picked
Three rules, published in full on our methodology page.
The reference: the Osprey Rook 65. It's Osprey's entry-level framed backpacking pack, listed at 62 L for its one size despite the “65” in the name. It weighs 1,678 g (3 lb 11.2 oz), and it's the pack a lot of first-time backpackers already carry before they start shopping for weight, so it's the pack every pick here is measured against.
The value metric: grams saved per dollar. Grams saved against the reference, divided by the maker's list price, counts for 35% of the score. Absolute weight is 20%, category function (here, published load capacity and fit range) 25%, materials and warranty 10%, and ease and versatility 10%. The order below is simply the computed score, and where two packs tie we break the tie on the higher value figure, since that's the number a budget buyer actually cares about.
No universal “base weight” rating. Unlike a tent or a quilt, a pack has no single published comfort number every maker agrees on. Where a maker states a load rating or a carry range, we print it as that maker's own figure; where it doesn't, we say so instead of guessing. Weights are the maker's figure for the size stated in each product's specs, and this page doesn't claim anyone has carried these packs; every figure traces to a maker page in the Sources list.
Why the QiDian wins on the math
Grams per dollar rewards a pack that gets most of the way to the lightest weight in the catalog for a small slice of the price. The QiDian 40+16 lists at $50–$100 MSRP band, the lowest of any pack we track, and at 850 g (1 lb 14.0 oz) it undercuts every framed pack here by roughly half. 3F UL Gear's own product page lists it at 40 L plus a 16 L extension collar (the same page also prints “up to 55 L,” a conflict we're disclosing rather than resolving), Duraflex and YKK buckles, and a lifetime repair policy that excludes ordinary fabric aging.
What the QiDian gives up is easy to list: it's rated to only 12 kg (26.5 lb), the lowest max load of any pack in this group; it offers no torso sizing, just color options; and 3F doesn't state the fabric's denier. If your loaded pack will pass 12 kg, or you need a fit sized to your torso, this isn't the pack, and the QiDian Pro or the Virga3 55 are the next steps up.
The QiDian Pro answers most of that. For a little more money it adds a UHMWPE-blend fabric 3F rates at 45-50N tear resistance (the maker's claim), two hipbelt pockets the plain QiDian doesn't have, and a max load bumped to 14 kg (30 lb). It's still frameless: 3F's design uses your own folded foam sleeping pad as the back panel, so it only works as pitched if you're already carrying one. Buy it over the plain QiDian if the extra 2 kg of rated capacity and the tougher fabric are worth the difference; skip both if you sleep on an inflatable pad alone, since neither pack has a back panel without one.
What each pack can actually carry
A gram figure only tells half the story on a pack. The other half is how much weight it's built to carry before the suspension stops working for you, and that number varies more here than on almost anything else we rank. Here's every maker's own figure, cheapest packs first:
| Pack | Frame | Maker's load rating |
|---|---|---|
| QiDian 40+16 | Frameless | 12 kg (26.5 lb) |
| QiDian Pro | Frameless (foam pad as back panel) | Up to 14 kg (30 lb) |
| Virga3 55 | Frameless (pad slides into interior panels) | 25 lb |
| Crown3 60 | Removable PE frame sheet; optional aluminum stay | 25 lb without the sheet, 35 lb with it, 43 lb with the stay |
| Mariposa 60 | Removable aluminum closed-shape frame | 35 lb max, 30 lb recommended |
| Exos 58 | 4 mm LightWire frame, AirSpeed suspension | 30-35 lb |
| Kakwa 55 | Removable hollow aluminum inverted-U frame | 45 lb |
Read down that table and the pattern is obvious: capacity tracks the frame, and the frame tracks the price. The two frameless QiDians are the cheapest and the most load-limited. The Virga3 splits the difference with a supportive sleeve for your pad but no metal. The Crown3, Mariposa and Exos all carry real removable frames and rate to the 30-35 lb range most three-season kits actually reach. The Kakwa tops the list at 45 lb, ahead of every mainstream framed pack's optimal range too, and it does that under a kilogram. For the fuller version of “how much should my pack weigh,” including what to do if you're over these numbers, see our guide on how heavy your backpack should be.
Who picks #3 through #6 suit
#3, Granite Gear Virga3 55: the lightest pack with real sizing
The Virga3 is the pack to reach for if the QiDians' one-size fit is the dealbreaker. At 762 g (1 lb 10.9 oz) it's the lightest pack in this whole ranking, and Granite Gear still gives it an adjustable torso in two lengths (Regular 18-21 in, Long 21-24 in) plus a Re-Fit hipbelt that spans 26-42 in standard or 36-52 in in the Large option. It's frameless — a sleeping pad slides into interior panels to give it shape — and Granite Gear rates it to 25 lb, between the QiDian Pro and the framed picks further down this table. Robic 100D/210D fabric and a lifetime warranty against material and workmanship defects back it up, ahead of either QiDian's warranty terms.
#4, Durston Kakwa 55: the highest load rating under a kilogram
Nothing else in this ranking carries as much for as little weight. Durston's removable hollow aluminum inverted-U frame, at just 90 g, is what lets the Kakwa rate to 45 lb — ahead of every mainstream framed pack's optimal range and every other ultralight pack here — while still weighing 895 g (1 lb 15.6 oz) with that frame and its 15 g backpad included. The trade for that capacity is availability: Durston sells it direct from durstongear.com, not on Amazon, so the button below links straight there and earns us nothing. If it's on your shortlist against the Mariposa or the Exos, we run both comparisons in full: Mariposa vs Kakwa 55 and Exos vs Kakwa 55.
#5, Gossamer Gear Mariposa 60: the most exterior pocket storage
The Mariposa trades a little of the Kakwa's load rating for organization. Gossamer Gear's own breakdown puts 24 L of the pack's 60 L total capacity into seven exterior pockets, including two on the hipbelt, so a full multi-day kit can ride outside the main compartment where it's easy to reach. Its removable aluminum closed-shape frame and pivoting hipbelt (Gossamer Gear's “PVT Frame+Belt”) rate to 35 lb max, 30 lb recommended, at 968 g (2 lb 2.1 oz). It carries the highest list price of the seven picks here, and like the Kakwa it's sold only direct from Gossamer Gear's own store.
#6, Granite Gear Crown3 60: the most configurable load rating
The Crown3 is the pack built to grow with your load. Its removable PE frame sheet takes the rating from 25 lb with the sheet out to 35 lb with it in, and Granite Gear sells an optional aluminum stay that pushes it to 43 lb for a heavier trip. The lid converts to a chest or lumbar pack on its own, and the fabric is the same Robic 100D/210D as the Virga3. The catch is fit: Granite Gear fixes the torso length per size (Short, Regular, Long) rather than adjusting it, and the published weight of 1,080 g (2 lb 6.1 oz) excludes the removable lid.
The name brand you're paying for
The pack a budget buyer is tempted to reach for anyway is the Osprey Exos 58 ($200–$300 MSRP band), and it's worth being honest about what that money buys, because it mostly isn't weight. At 1,320 g (2 lb 14.6 oz) (S/M; Osprey's own product page and its owner's manual disagree by 32 g, and we use the heavier manual figure), it's the heaviest pack in this ranking and the reason it lands last on the math.
- A real frame with suspended mesh. The 4 mm LightWire frame and AirSpeed back panel keep the pack off your back for airflow, which none of the frameless picks here offer.
- Torso adjustment out of the box. 4 in of adjustment inside each of the two size ranges (S/M 17-20.5 in, L/XL 19.5-23 in), no separate sizing to order.
- The All Mighty Guarantee. Osprey repairs any damage or defect “for any reason, free of charge,” or replaces the pack if it can't. That's a stronger promise than any warranty elsewhere on this page.
- Weight. 470 g (1 lb 0.6 oz). That's the whole weight gap between the cheapest and heaviest packs here, and it's the line the Exos can't answer with grams.
So the honest pitch for the Exos isn't “it's light.” It's “it's a recognizable brand with a real frame, real ventilation and a no-questions repair policy, for close to the weight of the heaviest cottage pack here.” That's worth real money to plenty of buyers. It just isn't a grams argument, and it's why it sits at the bottom of this page rather than the top. If the Exos and the Kakwa 55 are both on your shortlist, we run the full comparison in Osprey Exos vs Durston Kakwa 55.
Every pick side by side
Two of the seven picks here — the Durston Kakwa 55 and the Gossamer Gear Mariposa 60 — aren't sold on Amazon. Durston and Gossamer Gear both sell direct from their own stores, and we link to those pages plainly; we don't earn anything from those links. We still rank both packs on the same math as everything else, because leaving out two of the best load-per-gram packs in the catalog just to keep every row a buy button would be dishonest about what actually performs well.
Read the Value column against the Score column and the trade gets clear fast. The QiDians lead on value because they're cheap and light; the Kakwa and Mariposa hold their own on score because they carry real load capacity for their weight, even though their list prices pull their value figures down. Neither number alone tells you which pack fits your kit — the load-rating table above does that.
In detail
The picks, in full
Best Budget UL Pack
3F UL Gear QiDian 40+16
The most grams shed per dollar of any pack we track, and the lowest list price. Frameless, with the lowest load rating here and no torso sizing at all: a pack for a kit that's already light.
Published specsFrom the maker · not tested by us
| Weight | 850 g (1 lb 14.0 oz) (listed weight (850 g / 1.87 lb); no sizes offered, colors only) |
|---|---|
| List price | $50–$100 MSRP band (per 3fulgear.com, checked Sep 2026) |
| Value | Value 10.0/10vs the reference Osprey Rook 65 at 1,678 g (3 lb 11.2 oz) |
| Volume | 40 L + 16 L (the same page also lists 'up to 55 L') |
| Frame | Frameless |
| Max load | 12 kg (26.5 lb) |
| Fabric | Nylon body (denier not stated); Duraflex and YKK buckles |
| Dimensions | 80 x 30 x 22 cm (31.5 x 11.8 x 8.7 in); maker notes 1-3 cm variance |
| Sizes | No torso sizes listed (color is the only option) |
| Warranty | Lifetime repairs; natural aging of fabric and materials excluded |
How the 7.0 score breaks down
- Grams per dollar (35%, computed)
- 10.0
- Weight (20%, computed)
- 6.7
- Carry, capacity & load (25%)
- 5.0
- Materials & durability (10%)
- 4.5
- Ease & versatility (10%)
- 5.0
What the specs support
- 850 g listed weight at the lowest list price of any pack here
- 40 L + 16 L listed volume leaves room for a multi-day load
- 3F offers lifetime repairs
Where it falls short
- Frameless with a 12 kg (26.5 lb) max load, the lowest rating here
- No torso sizes, and the maker page lists no pocket or hipbelt details
- Nylon denier is not stated, so durability is hard to judge
Skip it if…
Skip it if your loaded pack will top 12 kg (26.5 lb), 3F's listed max, or if you need a pack sized to your torso: none is offered.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to 3F UL Gear QiDian 40+16
Best value with a higher load rating
3F UL Gear QiDian Pro
A little heavier than the plain QiDian, but a tougher UHMWPE-blend fabric, two more pockets and a higher rated max load. Still frameless: your folding foam pad does the structural work.
Published specsFrom the maker · not tested by us
| Weight | 880 g (1 lb 15.0 oz) (listed weight (880 g / 1.94 lb); no sizes offered, colors only) |
|---|---|
| List price | $50–$100 MSRP band (per 3fulgear.com, checked Sep 2026) |
| Value | Value 8.7/10vs the reference Osprey Rook 65 at 1,678 g (3 lb 11.2 oz) |
| Volume | 56 L internal volume; roll-top closure |
| Frame | Frameless: a folding foam sleeping pad serves as the back panel |
| Max load | Up to 14 kg (30 lb) |
| Fabric | UHMWPE mixed nylon; tear resistance 45-50 NAs stated |
| Pockets | 6 external, including 2 side and 2 hipbelt pockets |
| Fit | Body height 170-190 cm (5 ft 7 in and up); waist over 73 cm (28 in); no torso sizes |
| Warranty | Lifetime repairs; natural aging of fabric and materials excluded |
How the 7.0 score breaks down
- Grams per dollar (35%, computed)
- 8.7
- Weight (20%, computed)
- 6.5
- Carry, capacity & load (25%)
- 6.0
- Materials & durability (10%)
- 6.0
- Ease & versatility (10%)
- 5.5
What the specs support
- 880 g listed weight at a budget list price
- UHMWPE-blend fabric and two hipbelt pockets, neither listed for the plain QiDian
- Your folding foam pad does double duty as the back panel
Where it falls short
- Frameless, rated to 14 kg (30 lb) against the Kakwa 55's 45 lb
- Needs a folding foam pad for back-panel structure
- One fit range (170-190 cm hiker height); no torso sizes
Skip it if…
Skip it if you sleep on an inflatable pad alone: 3F designs the back panel around a folding foam pad, and without one this frameless pack has no structure.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to 3F UL Gear QiDian Pro
Lightest pack with real torso sizing
Granite Gear Virga3 55
The lightest pack on this page, and the first one with an adjustable torso and a hipbelt sized separately from the bag. Frameless, so match the load rating to your kit before you buy.
Published specsFrom the maker · not tested by us
| Weight | 762 g (1 lb 10.9 oz) (listed weight, Regular torso (1.68 lb, converted; the page also lists .76 kg)) |
|---|---|
| List price | $150–$200 MSRP band (per granitegear.com, checked Sep 2026) |
| Value | Value 4.6/10vs the reference Osprey Rook 65 at 1,678 g (3 lb 11.2 oz) |
| Volume | 55 L (3,350 cu in) |
| Weight by size | Regular 1.68 lb (.76 kg), Long 1.72 lb (.78 kg); stripped weight 1.18 lb |
| Frame | Frameless suspension; a sleeping pad slides into interior panels for support |
| Load rating | 25 lb |
| Fit | Adjustable torso: Regular 18-21 in, Long 21-24 in; Re-Fit belt 26-42 in (Large belt 36-52 in) |
| Fabric | Robic high-tenacity nylon, 100D and 210D, Barrier DWR |
| Pockets | 1 stretch pocket, 2 cinchable side pockets, 2 hipbelt pockets; hydration port |
| Warranty | Lifetime, against defects in materials or workmanship |
How the 6.2 score breaks down
- Grams per dollar (35%, computed)
- 4.6
- Weight (20%, computed)
- 7.5
- Carry, capacity & load (25%)
- 6.5
- Materials & durability (10%)
- 7.5
- Ease & versatility (10%)
- 7.0
What the specs support
- Lowest listed weight of any pack here
- Robic 100D/210D fabric backed by a lifetime warranty
- Adjustable torso in two lengths plus two hipbelt sizes
Where it falls short
- Frameless with a 25 lb load rating
- The unisex torso range starts at 18 in; shorter torsos need the women's version
Skip it if…
Skip it if your loaded pack will pass 25 lb, Granite Gear's rating for this frameless pack, or if your torso is under 18 in (the unisex Regular starts there).
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Granite Gear Virga3 55
Highest load rating under a kilogram
Durston Kakwa 55
A real removable aluminum frame keeps this one composed under a heavier load than anything else here, sub-kilogram fabric aside. Sold direct by Durston Gear, not on Amazon.
Published specsFrom the maker · not tested by us
| Weight | 895 g (1 lb 15.6 oz) (complete pack, Medium, Ultra 200X fabric (frame 90 g and backpad 15 g included; both removable)) |
|---|---|
| List price | $200–$300 MSRP band (per durstongear.com, checked Sep 2026) |
| Value | Value 2.8/10vs the reference Osprey Rook 65 at 1,678 g (3 lb 11.2 oz) |
| Volume | Medium: 55 L internal + 15 L external = 70 L (Small 53/68 L, Large 57/72 L) |
| Weight by size | Ultra 200X: S 855 g, M 895 g, L 920 g; UltraGrid: S 830 g, M 870 g, L 890 g |
| Frame | Hollow aluminum inverted-U frame (removable) |
| Max load | 45 lb |
| Fit | Torso S 15-18 in, M 17-20 in, L 19-22 in; hipbelt S/M 29-38 in, M/L 33-42 in |
| Fabric | Ultra 200X (dominantly UHMWPE) or UltraGrid (210D nylon with UHMWPE ripstop) |
| Pockets | Dual hipbelt pockets, shoulder strap pockets, low-stretch knit front pocket; hydration port |
| Warranty | 1 year against defects |
How the 6.0 score breaks down
- Grams per dollar (35%, computed)
- 2.8
- Weight (20%, computed)
- 6.4
- Carry, capacity & load (25%)
- 9.0
- Materials & durability (10%)
- 7.5
- Ease & versatility (10%)
- 7.0
What the specs support
- 45 lb max load, the highest rating of any sub-1 kg pack here
- UHMWPE-based Ultra 200X fabric
- 70 L total volume (Medium) including 15 L of outside pockets
Where it falls short
- Not sold on Amazon: Durston sells it direct
- 1-year warranty is short next to Granite Gear's and Osprey's lifetime coverage
- Hipbelts top out at 42 in
Skip it if…
Skip it if your waist or hips measure over 42 in: Durston's largest listed hipbelt (M/L) is 33-42 in.
Sold direct by the maker, not on Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn on it.
Most exterior pocket storage
Gossamer Gear Mariposa 60
Seven outside pockets and a removable aluminum frame for a pack you can organize without opening the main compartment. The highest list price of the ultralight group, and sold direct, not on Amazon.
Published specsFrom the maker · not tested by us
| Weight | 968 g (2 lb 2.1 oz) (total, Medium with M Straight hipbelt (frame 122 g and Sitlight pad 65 g included; both removable)) |
|---|---|
| List price | $300–$400 MSRP band (per gossamergear.com, checked Sep 2026) |
| Value | Value 2.3/10vs the reference Osprey Rook 65 at 1,678 g (3 lb 11.2 oz) |
| Volume | 60 L total: 36 L main body to the extension collar + 24 L across 7 exterior pockets |
| Weight by size | Small 946 g (S/M Curved belt), Medium 968 g, Large 1,025 g (M Straight belt) |
| Frame | Aluminum closed-shape frame with pivoting hipbelt (PVT Frame+Belt) |
| Load | Max 35 lb; recommended 30 lb |
| Fit | Torso S 16-18 in, M 18-20 in, L 20-22 in; 5 hipbelt options spanning 26-61.5 in |
| Fabric | 100D and 210D recycled Robic nylon, PFAS-free |
| Pockets | 7 exterior, including 2 hipbelt pockets; hydration tube router |
| Warranty | 1 year from purchase against manufacturing defects; fabric durability failures excluded |
How the 5.5 score breaks down
- Grams per dollar (35%, computed)
- 2.3
- Weight (20%, computed)
- 5.8
- Carry, capacity & load (25%)
- 8.5
- Materials & durability (10%)
- 6.0
- Ease & versatility (10%)
- 8.0
What the specs support
- 24 L of exterior pocket volume across seven pockets
- Widest hipbelt range here: five belts spanning 26-61.5 in
- Frame and Sitlight pad come out to cut weight
Where it falls short
- Not currently buyable on Amazon: sold direct
- 35 lb max (30 lb recommended) is below the Kakwa 55's 45 lb
- 1-year warranty excludes fabric durability failures
Skip it if…
Skip it if you routinely carry more than 30 lb: Gossamer Gear recommends 30 lb and caps the Mariposa at 35 lb.
Sold direct by the maker, not on Amazon. Plain link: we don't earn on it.
Most configurable load rating
Granite Gear Crown3 60
A removable frame sheet and an optional stay let one pack scale from a light carry to a genuinely heavy one. The torso length is fixed per size, so measure before you order.
Published specsFrom the maker · not tested by us
| Weight | 1,080 g (2 lb 6.1 oz) (listed weight, Regular torso, without the removable lid (lid listed at 0.18 lb)) |
|---|---|
| List price | $200–$300 MSRP band (per granitegear.com, checked Sep 2026) |
| Value | Value 2.3/10vs the reference Osprey Rook 65 at 1,678 g (3 lb 11.2 oz) |
| Volume | 60 L (3,660 cu in), all torso sizes |
| Weight by size | Short 1.04 kg, Regular 1.08 kg, Long 1.13 kg, without lid; lid 0.18 lb; 2 lb with the frame sheet removed |
| Frame | Removable Vapor Current Mark 3 PE frame sheet with molded foam back panel |
| Load rating | 25 lb without frame sheet, 35 lb with it, 43 lb with the optional aluminum stay (sold separately) |
| Fit | Fixed torso in 3 sizes: Short 15-18 in, Regular 18-21 in, Long 21-24 in; Re-Fit belt 26-42 in |
| Fabric | Robic high-tenacity nylon, 100D and 210D, Barrier DWR |
| Pockets | Lid compartments, 1 stretch pocket, 2 cinchable side pockets, 2 hipbelt pockets; hydration port and sleeve |
| Warranty | Lifetime, against defects in materials or workmanship |
How the 5.2 score breaks down
- Grams per dollar (35%, computed)
- 2.3
- Weight (20%, computed)
- 4.9
- Carry, capacity & load (25%)
- 7.5
- Materials & durability (10%)
- 7.5
- Ease & versatility (10%)
- 8.0
What the specs support
- Frame sheet, lid and optional stay let one pack cover 25 lb to 43 lb loads
- Three torso sizes and an adjustable Re-Fit hipbelt
- Lifetime warranty on Robic fabric
Where it falls short
- The listed weight excludes the 0.18 lb lid
- Torso length is fixed per size, so you must pick the right one
- Heavier than every frameless pick here
Skip it if…
Skip it if your torso measures between sizes and you want to fine-tune it: Granite Gear lists the Crown3 torso as fixed and non-adjustable in each of its three sizes.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Granite Gear Crown3 60
The name brand you already trust
Osprey Exos 58
A suspended mesh back on a real LightWire frame, and Osprey's guarantee against damage for any reason. The heaviest and highest-listing pack in this group, which is exactly what the brand costs here.
Published specsFrom the maker · not tested by us
| Weight | 1,320 g (2 lb 14.6 oz) (listed weight, S/M (1.32 kg in the S22 owner's manual; the product page lists 1.288 kg, heavier figure used)) |
|---|---|
| List price | $200–$300 MSRP band (per osprey.com, checked Sep 2026) |
| Value | Value 1.3/10vs the reference Osprey Rook 65 at 1,678 g (3 lb 11.2 oz) |
| Volume | 58 L (S/M), 61 L (L/XL) |
| Weight (S/M) | 1,288 g on the product page; 1,320 g in the S22 owner's manual (L/XL: 1,334 g vs 1,360 g) |
| Load range | 30-35 lb (14-16 kg) |
| Frame | 4 mm powder-coated LightWire frame; AirSpeed suspended mesh back panel with 4 in of torso adjustment |
| Torso sizes | S/M 17-20.5 in (43-52 cm), L/XL 19.5-23 in (49-58.9 cm) |
| Fabric | Recycled 100D high-tenacity nylon ripstop main; recycled 400D high-tenacity nylon also listed |
| Pockets | Dual zippered hipbelt pockets, removable floating lid, front stretch mesh pocket, dual-access side pockets; internal hydration sleeve |
| Warranty | All Mighty Guarantee: Osprey repairs any damage or defect for any reason, or replaces the pack |
How the 4.6 score breaks down
- Grams per dollar (35%, computed)
- 1.3
- Weight (20%, computed)
- 2.9
- Carry, capacity & load (25%)
- 8.0
- Materials & durability (10%)
- 8.0
- Ease & versatility (10%)
- 8.0
What the specs support
- Suspended mesh back panel on a LightWire frame
- Removable lid and built-in FlapJacket let you trim it down
- Osprey's guarantee covers damage for any reason, not just defects
Where it falls short
- 1,320 g (S/M) is the heaviest of the ultralight-class picks here
- 30-35 lb load range sits below the Kakwa 55's 45 lb max
- Osprey's own pages disagree on the weight by 32 g
Skip it if…
Skip it if your torso is under 17 in: the Exos S/M starts there (Osprey lists the women's Eja down to 13.5 in).
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Affiliate disclosure for the link to Osprey Exos 58
Decision 1: frame or frameless
This is the decision that moves both the weight and the price the most. A frameless pack (QiDian, QiDian Pro, Virga3) has nothing between your back and your kit but fabric and, often, your own folded pad. That keeps the pack light and cheap, and it caps how much you can carry before the load starts pulling on your shoulders instead of riding on your hips. A pack with a real frame (Kakwa, Mariposa, Crown3, Exos) moves weight onto a hipbelt and carries more before it gets uncomfortable, for more grams and more money. Our frameless vs framed backpacks guide goes through the trade in more depth, including when a frame sheet like the Crown3's splits the difference.
Decision 2: how much you'll actually carry
Add up your base weight, plus food, water and fuel for your longest planned stretch between resupplies, and compare that total to the load-rating table above. A pack rated below what you'll actually carry isn't a weight savings, it's a pack that stops working on day one of a long resupply carry. Our how heavy should my backpack be guide walks through the math with a worked example.
Decision 3: torso and hipbelt fit
The QiDian and QiDian Pro offer no torso sizing at all, just a stated height and waist range. The Virga3, Crown3, Mariposa and Kakwa all publish a torso range with two or three sizes, and the Exos adjusts 4 in within each of its two size bands. If you're outside the middle of the height range 3F UL Gear publishes for its frameless packs, a sized pack will carry noticeably better, even at a higher price. Check the fit numbers in the spec table above against your own torso length before you buy on price alone.
Decision 4: if you want a conventional framed pack instead
Every pack on this page is built to save grams first. If what you actually want is a traditional framed pack at a lower price — more like the Osprey Rook 65 reference above, but lighter or cheaper than it — our best budget framed backpacks ranking covers that buyer specifically, including one lightweight framed pack that crosses over from this list.
Decision 5: where the pack sits in your budget
A pack is one of the three heaviest, most expensive items in a kit, alongside your shelter and your sleep system. Because the load rating matters as much as the gram count, it's not always the place to buy the absolute cheapest option: an underrated frameless pack can cost you comfort on every one of your longest days. For a complete kit built around these trade-offs at a hard budget ceiling, see the $500 ultralight backpacking kit, which uses one of the packs ranked here.
How we scored this
Units we claim to have tested: 0
Most gear sites say they tested everything. We didn't, and we say so. What we did instead: took every weight and list price from the maker's own page, measured each product against a named mainstream reference, and computed grams saved per dollar. Every number links to where it came from.
The score is spec-derived: value and weight are computed from those numbers, and the rest are judgments from published specs, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The formula, weights and references are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
What is the best budget ultralight backpack?
Are ultralight backpacks comfortable?
How heavy should my backpack be for backpacking?
Do ultralight backpacks need a frame?
Why isn't the Durston Kakwa 55 sold on Amazon?
What's the difference between the 3F UL Gear QiDian and QiDian Pro?
Receipts
Sources
- 3F UL Gear: QiDian 40+16 UL Pack product page (checked 2026-09-22)
- 3F UL Gear: QiDian Pro Backpack product page (checked 2026-09-22)
- 3F UL Gear: warranty page (checked 2026-09-22)
- Granite Gear: Virga3 55 Unisex product page (checked 2026-09-22)
- Granite Gear: Crown3 60 Unisex product page (checked 2026-09-22)
- Granite Gear: warranty page (checked 2026-09-22)
- Durston Gear: Kakwa 55 product page (checked 2026-09-22)
- Gossamer Gear: Mariposa 60 Backpack product page (checked 2026-09-22)
- Gossamer Gear: warranty page (checked 2026-09-22)
- Osprey: Exos 58 product page, Specifications (checked 2026-09-22)
- Osprey: Exos/Eja series owner's manual, S22 (PDF, checked 2026-09-22)
- Osprey: Rook 65L product page, Specifications, the reference pack (checked 2026-09-22)
We haven't tested the gear on this page and we don't pretend to. Weights, list prices and specs come from each maker's own pages (linked on every product), and performance figures such as boil times or flow rates are the maker's claims, labeled that way. Amazon sets its own prices and changes them often, so buy buttons link to the live listing. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.



